Regional IAHR Hydro-Environment Heritage and Industry Innovation Awards

Founding Statement

IAHR Regional Hydro-Environment Heritage Awards and IAHR Regional Industry Awards are conferred by IAHR during one or more of the IAHR Regional Congresses on a local infrastructure of lasting and international importance. They have the purpose of giving international professional recognition to the work of local hydro-environment engineers, and the infrastructure should demonstrably have stood the test of time (be at least one hundred years old) and be accepted and valued nationally.

Rules for the administration of the award
List of previous winners

Asia Pacific Division Heritage Award

  • 2020 | Sayamaike Reservoir. This facility was developed in the ancient period to provide irrigation water to the Osaka Plain using a channel network and a reservoir cascade system. It has been reinforced and heightened repeatedly to increase the reservoir capacity with the expansion of the irrigation area and is still being used in the area. Osaka-Sayama City, Japan and Osaka Pref., Japan.

  • 2020 | Tatsumi Aqueduct. This facility has been developed in the early modern period to supply water for fire protection, drinking water, pouring water into a moat, and water for agriculture using tunnel and inverted siphon technology and is still being utilized in the area. Tatsumi Aqueduct Land Improvement District, Japan, Kanazawa City, Japan and Ishikawa Pref., Japan.

  • 2020 | Flood control and water use facilities in the Ishikari River basin. This facility has been developed in the late modern period to transform cold region peatlands into rice cultivation areas, leading to the formation of a major economic zone and is still being utilized in the area. Hokkaido Regional Development Bureau, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, Japan and Hokkaido Government, Japan.

  • 2016 | Parakrama Samudraya. A reservoir aimed at irrigation and constructed in the 11th century. It has a surface area of 22,600,000 m2 and a catchment area of 75,000,000 m2.

Europe Division Heritage Award

  • 2022 | Aqueduct of Hadrian, Greece 

  • 2021 | Augustow Canal, an outstanding hydraulic engineering structure on a Europe-wide scale.

  • 2021 | Vistula Boulevards in Varsaw, an innovative solution in the city space, combining the needs of inhabitants with nature protection.

  • 2016 | Construction of the 4th lock of Lanaye. Presented at the 4th IAHR Europe Congress in Liege, July 2016.

Europe Division Innovation and Industry Award

  • 2022 | EYDAP SA, Greece

Latin America Division Award

  • 2016 | Tipon. The Inca site at Tipon has been granted the first IAHR Latin America Division Heritage Award. Tipon is a small Inca urban center located 24 km South of Cusco City, during the 27th IAHR Latin America Congress in Lima, Perú. The award was collected by Dr Arturo Rocha Felices, Honorary President of the Local Organising Committee and former President of the IAHR Latin American Division. A Testament to Incan Water Management by Mike Applegate. Published in Hydrolink 4, 2016  

Copyright © 2024 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions