Stephen E. Coleman Best Paper Award for Young Researchers

Founding Statement

The Stephen E. Coleman Best Paper Award is given biennially to the best paper submitted to the River Flow Conference Series and authored or co-authored by a young researcher

This award was established by the IAHR technical committee on Fluvial Hydraulics in September 2014, in memory of Prof. Stephen E. Coleman (1966–2012). 

Prof. Coleman is remembered for his outstanding and original contributions to fundamental and applied research in the fields of river mechanics and environmental fluid mechanics and his devotion and enthusiasm in the training of the new generations of hydraulic engineers and scientists.

Rules for the administration of the award

Who can be a candidate?

The first author of the paper is a young researcher* who will present it orally at the River Flow Conference.

The young researcher applied for the award when submitting the paper.

* a young researcher is defined as a M.Sc. or Ph.D. student or a researcher who has completed his/her Ph.D. no more than three years before the date of the conference in which the award will be given. The time used for parental leaves is not counted for the definition of young researcher.

Submission of papers

The submitted paper should be a full paper or an extended abstract of at least four (4) pages. 

Selection procedure

The selection of the best paper is done by the Stephen E. Coleman Award Committee composed by members of the Leadership Team of the IAHR technical committee on Fluvial Hydraulics

List of previous winners


Emeline Perret, France

Copyright © 2023 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions