IAHR-APD Best Paper Award

Founding Statement

The IAHR-Asia and Pacific Division Best Paper Award (hereinafter called the IAHR-APD Award) recognizes the authors of the two most outstanding papers presented at the IAHR-APD Congress. It was established by the IAHR Council in its meeting in Moscow on 3 September 1983 to encourage the presentation of results on hydraulic and water resources research at the IAHR-APD biennial congresses.

Rules for the administration of the award
  1. The IAHR-APD Award will be presented at each biennial IAHR-APD Congress to the authors of the two papers judged the most outstanding papers published in the Congress proceedings.

  2. The awardees will be confirmed by the IAHR-APD Executive Committee from the proposals for each award, submitted to the APD Executive Committee by an Award Committee set up by the APD Executive Committee and confirmed by the Secretary General.

  3. The Award Committee will review the papers submitted for presentation, assess the manner of presentation by the author and will also seek suggestions for nominations of awardees from the participants in the Congress. The nominations of awardees from the participants in the Congress shall be completed with a clear argumentation (maximum one page) regarding its outstanding quality and why the paper is of such a specific quality that it outweighs the other papers of the considered field.

  4. The Award Committee shall submit the nominations to the IAHR-APD Secretary before the closing session of the Congress.

  5. One award should be for the author of the best paper from the host country and the other one to the author of the best paper from outside the host country. An award may not be made if the papers in one of the categories are judged inadequate.

  6. Awards need not be made during any congress in which the IAHR-APD Executive Committee considers none of the nominees to be of sufficiently high quality.

  7. The awards will be presented at the closing ceremony and will consist of a plaque, a certificate and a free one-year IAHR membership where applicable.

List of previous winners

2022 | 23rd IAHR-APD Congress. Chennai, India

Best Student Paper Award

“Numerical Modelling of Ship Waves and Induced Sediment Resuspension in the Hooghly River, India” by Mainak Chakraborty

“Eliminating Fixation of Alternate Bars by using Impermeable Groynes” by Ryotaro Endo

Best Paper Award

“Combined Storm Surge and River Flow Simulation for the Hooghly Estuary, East Coast of India” by B. Sridharan

“Numerical Investigations into Wave Attenuation Characteristics of Vegetation Belt in terms of Vortex Shedding due to Different Arrangement Configuration” by N. Hari Ram

Overall Best Paper Award

“Application of IITM-RANS3D to Wave-Breaking and Wave Structure Interaction Problems” by Shaswat Saincher

2020 | 22nd IAHR-APD Congress. Sapporo, Japan

“Reynolds Number Effects of Internal Solitary Waves Propagating on a Uniform Slope” by Hai Zhu, Songping Mao, Decai Sun, Lingling Wang, Zhenzhen Yu, Cheng Lin

“Uncertainties of Machine Learning in Predicting the Hydrological Responses of Lid Practices” by Yang Yang, Ting Fong May Chui

“Effects of Submerged Weir with an Opening on Bed Deformation and Flow Structure under Live-bed Conditions” by Hirotaka Une, Terunori Ohmoto

“Variability in Stage-discharge Relationships in River Reach with Bed Evolutions” by Robin K. Biswas, Shinji Egashira, Daisuke Harada

2018 | 21st IAHR-APD Congress. Yogyakarta, Indonesia

“Dominating Factors Influencing Rapid Channel Migration during Floods – A Case Study on Otofuke River” by Tomoko Kyuka and Yasuyuki Shimizu

“Effect of the Combination of Forest and the Front-Side Moat along a River Where a Tsunami Runs Up” by Yoshiya Igarashi and Norio Tanaka

“Effect of Climate Change Variables on the Coastal Wind Prediction” by Syamsidik

2012 | 18th IAHR-APD Congress. Jeju, Korea

“Analysis of dispersion characteristic using tracer test in natural stream” by Il Won Seo

2010 | 17th APD-Congress. Auckland, New Zealand

“The structure of flows in suspended aquaculture canopies” by David Plew

Copyright © 2024 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions