Phil H. Burgi Best Paper Award

Founding Statement

The Phil H. Burgi Best Paper Award rewards the best technical paper presented at the IAHR International Symposium on Hydraulic Structures (ISHS). 

The Award was launched in 2018 on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the IAHR technical committee on Hydraulic Structures

Named after the first chair of the Technical Committee, Philip H. Burgi, the Award was delivered for the first time at the 7th International Symposium on Hydraulic Structures in Aachen, Germany.

Rules for the administration of the award

Who can apply?

Authors aiming at applying for the Philip H. Burgi Best Paper Award–ISHS 2022 should mention it when submitting their abstract. Nominated papers will be selected prior to the symposium regarding their scientific content, innovation and impact as well as their linkages with hydraulic structures. 

When and where will the award recipient be announced? 

The Award winner will be selected among selected papers after oral presentations and will be announced during the ISHS banquet.

List of previous winners


Due to COVID-19 pandemic, no award was presented in 2020.

2018 | 7th International Symposium on Hydraulic Structures  
Svenja Kemper & Andreas Schlenkhoff  
Numerical simulation of intake structures like street inlets with supercritical flow conditions

Copyright © 2023 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions