Harold Jan Schoemaker Award

Founding Statement

The Harold Jan Schoemaker Award is granted to the author(s) of the paper judged the most outstanding paper published in the IAHR Journal of Hydraulic Research in the two years preceding the IAHR World Congress.

The award was established in 1980 to recognise the efforts made by Professor Schoemaker, IAHR Secretary (1960-1979), in guiding the Journal of Hydraulic Research in its formative years. 

Rules for the administration of the award

Who can be awarded?

The Harold Jan Schoemaker Award (hereinafter referred to as the Award) is presented at the biennial IAHR World Congress to the author(s) of the paper judged the most outstanding paper published in the IAHR Journal of Hydraulic Research (JHR) in the two years preceding the IAHR World Congress.

IAHR members and non-members are eligible for this award.


The 2023 edition of the Harold Jan Schoemaker Award is currently closed.

Selection procedure

The awardee(s) will be selected by the Editor of JHR in consultation with the Editorial Board. The awardee(s) will be selected by majority vote of the Editorial Board. The selected candidate(s) must be endorsed by a majority vote of Council conducted electronically.

The awardee(s) shall be notified by the Executive Director in good time so the awardee(s) can attend the Award ceremony at the World Congress.

The award won't be given where the IAHR Council considers none of the nominees is of sufficient quality.

What does the award consist of?

The award will consist of a bronze medal and a certificate.

For further information, please refer to our FAQs section on our website. Additional enquiries regarding the nomination process should be directed to the IAHR Secretariat via email to

List of previous winners

23rd Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2023
Umair Ahmed, David Apsley, Timothy Stallard, Peter Stansby and Imran Afgan. For their paper Turbulent length scales and budgets of Reynolds stress-transport for open-channel flows; friction Reynolds numbers Reτ = 150, 400 and 1020, published in the Journal of Hydraulic Research, 59(1), 36-50.

22nd Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2021
Christophe Ancey (2020). Bedload transport: a walk between randomness and determinism, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 58:1, 1-17.

21st Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2019
Andrew Nichols, Simon J. Tait, Kirill V. Horoshenkov, Simon J. Shepherd (2016). A model of the free surface dynamics of shallow turbulent flows, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 54:5, 516-526.

20th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2017
B. Vowinckel, R. Jain, T. Kempe, J. Fröhlich (2016). Entrainment of single particles in a turbulent open-channel flow: a numerical study, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 54(2), 1578-171. 

19th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2015
T. Stoesser (2014). Large-eddy simulation in hydraulics: Quo Vadis?, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 52:4, 441-452.

18th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2013
V. Heller (2011). Scale effects in physical hydraulic engineering models, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 49:3, 293-306.
H. Nepf (2012). Hydrodynamics of vegetated channels, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 50:3, 262-279.

17th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2011
U.C. Kothyari, H. Hashimoto, K. Hayashi (2009). Effect of tall vegetation on sediment transport by channel flows, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 47:6, 700-710.

16th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2009
H. Morvan, D.W. Knight, N.Wright, X. Tang, A. Crossley (2008). The Concept of Roughness in fluvial hydraulics and its formulation in 1D, 2D, and 3D numerical simulation models, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 46:2, 191-208.

15th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2007
K. Blankaert, U. Lemmin (2006). Means of noise reduction in acoustic turbulence measurements, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 44:1, 3-17.

14th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2007
E.J. Wannamaker, E.E. Adams (2006). Modelling descending carbon dioxide injections in the ocean, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 44:3, 324-337

13th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2005
A. Carrasco, C.A.Vionnet (2004). Separation of Scales on a Broad Shallow Turbulent Flow, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 42:6, 630-638.

12th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2003
S. Kostic, G. Parker. Propagational sand-mud deltas in lakes and reservoirs (2003). Part I: Theory and numerical modelling. Journal of Hydraulic Research, 41:2, 127-140. Part II: Experiment and numerical simulation, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 41:2, 141-152.

11th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 2001
K.F. Bradbrook, S.N. Lane, K.S. Richards, P.M. Biron, A.G. Roy (2000). Large eddy simulation of periodic flow characteristics at river channel confluences, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 38:3, 207-215.

B.P. Greimann, M. Muste, F.M, Holly, Jr (1999). Two-phase formulation of suspended sediment transport, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 37:4, 479-500.

10th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1999
G. Parker, Y. Cui (1998).The arrested gravel front: stable gravel-sand transitions in rivers – Part I: Simplified analytical solution, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 36:1, 75-100. Part II: General numerical solution, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 36:2, 159-182.

9th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1997
H. Kamide, Y. Ieda, J. Kobayashi, H. Ninokata (1996). Benchmark exercise for multi-dimensional thermohydraulic analysis codes -Buoyancy driven penetration flow phenomena and thermal stratification, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 34:3, 317-344.

8th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1995
Ph. Coussot (1994). Steady, laminar flow of concentrated mud suspensions in open channel, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 32:4, 535-559.

7th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1993
R.J. Keller, K.C. Tam, C. Tiu (1992). A general correlation for turbulent velocity profiles of dilute polymer solutions, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 30:1, 117-142. 

6th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1991
H.F. Cheong, N.J. Shankar, K. Subbiah (1989). Inertia dominated forces on submarine pipelines near seabed, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 27:1, 5-22. 

5th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1989
R.I. Nokes, I.R. Wood. (1987). Turbulent dispersion of a steady discharge of positively or negatively buoyant particles in two dimensions, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 25:1, 103-122.

4th Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1987
N. Struiksma, K.W. Olesen, C. Flokstra, H.J. de Vriend (1985). Bed deformation in curved alluvial channels, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 23:1, 57-79. 

3rd Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1985
W. Hauenstein, Th. Dracos (1984). Investigation of plunging density currents generated by inflows in lakes, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 22:3, 157-179.

2nd  Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1983
N.L. Coleman (1981). Velocity profiles with suspended sediment, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 19:3, 211-229.

1st  Harold Jan Schoemaker Award | 1981
M.B. Abbott, H. Petersen, O. Skovgaard (1978). On the numerical modelling of short waves in shallow water, Journal of Hydraulic Research, 16:3, 173-204.

Copyright © 2024 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions