Frequently Asked Questions regarding the IAHR Awards

We’ve answered the most common questions about the IAHR Awards here. Can’t find the answer? Additional enquiries can be directed to the IAHR Secretariat via email to

1. Who established the IAHR Awards?

The Council of the International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research (IAHR), a not-for-profit, global, independent members-based organisation of hydro-environment engineers, professionals, and researchers, established the IAHR Awards.

2. What do the IAHR Awards stand for?

IAHR Awards seek to recognise excellence and the careers, papers, projects, and achievements of outstanding individuals, businesses, and organisations who have had a remarkable impact on hydro-environment science and engineering within several categories.

3. Why nominate?

Nominating a candidate allows the sector to give recipients due recognition and to encourage excellence in others.

4. Where can I find a description of all existing IAHR Awards?

On the IAHR website > Awards

5. What is the nomination period?

The nomination period changes from one award to another. Please check each of the Awards’ pages for additional information.

6. When and where will the IAHR Awards recipients be announced?

Every two years, the recipients of the IAHR Global Awards, the Arthur Thomas Ippen Award, the M. Selim Yalin Lifetime Achievement Award, the Harold Jan Schoemaker Award, the IAHR Honorary Membership Award, the Willi H. Hager JHR Best Reviewer Award, the John F. Kennedy Student Paper Competition, the Hydro-Environment World Heritage Award, and the Industry Innovation Award, are announced at the IAHR World Congress, the major science and engineering event for the hydro-environment community worldwide. The 2023 edition will be presented at the 40th IAHR World Congress in Vienna, Austria, on 21-25 August 2023.

Other awards are presented at different places and times. Please check each of the Awards’ pages for additional information.

7. Who can make a nomination? 

Some IAHR Awards are open for nomination. For these, nomination can be made by anyone who meets the criteria of the related award.

8. Who can be a candidate?

Anyone who meets the criteria of the related award can be nominated. We welcome nominations from all parts of the world and strongly encourage the nomination of women candidates.

9. Is there an age limit for candidates?

Some awards have an age limit. Please check the IAHR Awards pages for more information.

10. How do I submit my nomination? May I submit a nomination via email or post?

All nominations must be submitted via email to using the nomination form which can be accessed from each of the Awards’ pages on the IAHR website.

11. In which language/s can nominations be submitted?

The nomination form needs to be submitted in English.

12. How many submissions can be made for the same nominee?

There are no limits to how many unique submissions can be made by an individual or organisation as long as they meet the eligibility requirements.

13. Can I submit a nominee to more than one award?

Yes, you can nominate for as many awards as you want. Just make sure that you meet the eligibility criteria for each award before submitting.

14. Where can I find a list of past awards recipients?

Past recipients can be accessed from the Awards section > Award pages on the IAHR website.

15. May I nominate a candidate who was nominated for the same award in a previous year?

Yes, you can certainly nominate a candidate who was nominated for the same award previously.

16. In what format should attachments be?

Please make sure that any relevant supporting documents are provided in PDF format.

17. Is my nomination confidential?

Yes. All awards submissions are treated as highly confidential. Only the IAHR Awards Committee and the IAHR Council will view them.

18. What happens after I submit?

Each award has its own selection procedure. Please check each of the Awards’ pages for additional information.

19. What do the awards consist of?

Each award comprises a certificate which will state the purpose of the Award and indicate the specific contribution(s) or area(s) of endeavour for which the awardee is recognised, and in some cases a cash prize.

Copyright © 2024 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions