1st IAHR Young Professionals Congress

1st IAHR Young Professionals Congress

Presentations & Mentoring
Present your work, get mentoring and network with other young professionals and experts in your field around the world!

17-18 November 2020
Format: Online



The IAHR technical committee on Education and Professional Development is organising the first virtual congress for young professionals. The aim is to give you the opportunity to present your work and get feedback from mentors. 

Young professionals will present their work by submitting an extended 2-page abstract for review by the International Scientific Committee.  Once accepted, your abstract will be assigned to one of the sessions chaired by the IAHR technical committees, and on the date of the event it will need to be supported by a one-page poster and a 3- to 5-minute presentation. Young professionals will receive feedback from mentors on their work and will be invited to join the break sessions so they can meet with their peers as well as the leaders of the IAHR technical committees.

Opportunities and benefits 

  • Connect with other YPNs worldwide and by areas of expertise. 

  • Mentoring opportunities. 

  • An opportunity to meet with representatives of the IAHR technical committees.

  • The Congress is open to students but also to young professionals. 

  • Free registration. 

  • Open to IAHR young professionals members and non members.

  • Proceedings will be published and made available in the IAHR e-library after the Congress. 

Key dates 

  • 1 July 2020: Final themes are announced. 

  • 14 July 2020: Call for abstracts opens.  

  • 31 August 2020: Call for abstracts closes. 

  • 30 September 2020: Notification of acceptance. 

  • 15 October 2020: Poster submission. 

  • 17-18 November 2020: Congress.

International Scientific Committee 

  • Alessio Radice. Politecnico di Milano, Italy.

  • Angelo Leopardi. University of Cassino and Southern Lazio, Italy.

  • Arturo Marcano, Universidad Católica Andrés Bello, Venezuela.

  • Asaad Shamseldin. University of Auckland, New Zealand.

  • Claudia Adduce. Roma Tre University, Italy.

  • Daniel Horna. Universidad de Ingeniería y Tecnología (UTEC) Peru.

  • David Ferras. IHE Delft, The Netherlands.

  • David Wegner. UMCES, USA.

  • Eva Fenrich. University of Stuttgart, Germany.

  • Gensheng Zhao. NHRI, China.

  • GOH Hui Weng. River Engineering and Urban Drainage Research Centre, Malaysia.

  • Gregory Pasternack. UC Davis, USA.

  • Hamed Sarkardeh. Hakim Sabzevari University, Iran.

  • Ibrahim Demir. University of Iowa, USA.

  • José Adriasola. Bechtel, Chile.

  • Jose Anta. Universidade da Coruña, Spain.

  • José M. Carrillo. Universidad Politécnica de Cartagena, Spain.

  • Juan Pablo Rodríguez Sánchez. Universidad de los Andes, Colombia.

  • Kamal El Kadi Abderrezzak. EDF, France.

  • Majid Mohammadian. University of Ottawa, Canada.

  • Mário J. Franca. IHE Delft, The Netherlands.

  • Martina Siena. Politecnico di Milano, Italy.

  • Massimo Guerrero. Università di Bologna, Italy.

  • Matthew Wood. HR Wallingford, United Kingdom.

  • Michael Nones. Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland.

  • Moez Louati. The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong, China.

  • Qi Wang, China.

  • Riaan van der Merwe. Khalifa University, United Arab Emirates.

  • Rita Carvalho. Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal.

  • Roberto Ranzi. University of Brescia, Italy.

  • Ronald R. Gutierrez. Pontificia Universidad Católica del Peru, Peru.

  • Rui ML Ferreira. Técnico Lisboa, Portugal.

  • Sanjay Giri. Deltares, The Netherlands.

  • Satoru Oishi. Kobe University, Japan.

  • Silke Wieprecht. University of Stuttgart, Germany.

  • Silvia Meniconi. Università degli Studi di Perugia, Italy.

  • Stefan Felder. The University of New South Wales, Australia.

  • Stefan Haun. University of Stuttgart, Germany.

  • Stefan Riedelbauch. University of Stuttgart, Germany.

  • Victor Hugo Hidalgo Diaz. Escuela Politécnica Nacional, Ecuador.

  • Xiaobing Chen. Hohai University, China.

  • Xiaohui Lei. IWHR, China.

  • Yongping Chen. Hohai University, China.

  • Zhiguo He. Zhejiang University, China.


  • Regular sessions organised by regions and break out sessions/groups by topics. 

  • Special Session: Overview of YPNs activities “YPN strengthening” and good examples of YPNs activities.   

  • ... and much more. 

Congress themes


  • Fluid Mechanics

  • Experimental Methods and Instrumentation

  • Fluvial Hydraulics

  • Hydraulic Machinery and Systems

  • Hydraulic Structures


  • Climate Change Adaptation

  • Ecohydraulics

  • Coastal & Maritime Hydraulics

  • Flood Risk Management

  • Groundwater Hydraulics and Management

  • Hydroinformatics

  • Urban Drainage

  • Water Resources Management

Innovation and Professional Development

  • Education and Professional Development

  • Higher Education and E-learning

Working Groups

  • Global Water Security 

  • Marine Outfall Systems

  • Reservoir Sedimentation

  • Sustainable Development Goals 

  • Transient Flows

Call for abstracts and guidelines for extended abstract submission

The submission deadline ends on 31 August 2020.

Your abstract must be submitted through the online submission form using the following template in Word or LaTex.

All extended abstracts must be submitted in English Please note that proofreading English text is compulsory. The use of native English reviewers is highly recommended.

Your extended abstract must be 850-1000 words max (2 pages) including a short abstract of 150 words and a maximum of 5 keywords.

The International Scientific Committee will review all the submissions during the month of September. If your extended abstract is accepted, it will be assigned to one of the sessions. You will then need to submit a one-page poster (using a 3 columns template or a 4 columns template) by 15 October 2020. Instructions on its submission will be provided at a later stage.

Presenters will do a 3-5 minute presentation at the 1st IAHR Young Professionals Congress.

Keep updated. Subscribe for free to our monthly e-bulletin Newsflash.

Copyright © 2020 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions