DONATE

New Approaches to Flood Risk Management Through Climate Change

1st IAHR Online Forum: New Approaches to Flood Risk Management Through Climate Change

 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION


New Approaches to Flood Risk Management Through Climate Change

05:00 UTC | 06:00 London | 07:00 Madrid | 10:30 New Delhi | 13:00 Beijing | 15:00 Sydney | 22:00 Los Angeles (6 July) | 01:00 New York
Wednesday, 7 July 2021


Watch the Playback

Climate change has brought in higher temperature and more extreme weather conditions in the past decades. Flood management requires innovative approaches to mitigate flood risk and reduce flood damages in densely populated urban areas. This section has invited international experts in hydraulic engineering research to present the state-of-art research and practice of flood management for future climates. Questions and discussions with speakers are highly encouraged.

Speakers

Alastair Barnett -profile -220x280.jpg

Alastair Barnett

Xiaotao Cheng -profile -220x280.jpg

Xiaotao Cheng

Session Chair

Alastair Barnett -profile -220x280.jpg

Jennifer G. Duan

Programme

Introduction

Keynote speeches

  • Xiaotao Cheng | Chief Editor, Journal of Hydraulic Engineering; Professor, China Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Research, China
    From "strict defense" to "proactive diversion": new approaches and topics of flood risk management in China

  • Alastair Barnett | Director, HYDRA Software Ltd, New Zealand
    Re-using stormwater detention reservoirs for pumped energy storage

Discussion and Q&A


 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION

Copyright © 2021 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions