DONATE

Hydroinformatics Application for Water Resources and Risk Management

1st IAHR Online Forum: Hydroinformatics Application for Water Resources and Risk Management

 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION


Hydroinformatics Application for Water Resources and Risk Management

08:00 UTC | 09:00 London | 10:00 Madrid | 13:30 New Delhi | 16:00 Beijing | 18:00 Sydney | 01:00 Los Angeles | 04:00 New York
Wednesday, 7 July 2021


Watch the Playback

Big data, technologies and modelling allowed for new possibilities in water resources management and water risks handling allowing for monitoring, analysing and forecasting water processes with a temporal and spatial detail level that was unpredictable only few decades ago. This session will introduce to such relevant theme showing the advances of technic an technologies in the field focusing on two main aspects that affect everyday life: flooding (and specifically flash floods) and water resources management (especially for energy production). The session will discuss new strategies derived from the availability of new sensors, methods and computational possibility showing how hydroinformatics is becoming the a sector of applied science in which hydraulic and hydrologic knowledge is used to guide a wise use of technology in management practice.

Session Chairs

Philippe Gourbesville

Shie-Yui Liong

Speakers

Sutat Weesakul

Qiang Ma

Dong Eon Kim

Wendi Dadiyorto

Cécile Munch-Alligné

Programme

Introduction

Presentations

  • Sutat Weesakul | Director, Hydro and Agro Informatics Institute (HAII) in the Ministry of Science and Technology, Thailand
    Hydroinformatics strategy for Thailand

  • Qiang Ma | China Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Research, China
    National Flash Flood disaster prevention platform: hydroinformatic strategy & operational deployment

  • Dong Eon Kim | National University Singapore, Singapore
    Innovative AI approach in Satellite DEM improvement for flood modeling

  • Wendi Dadiyorto | German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ) & Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK), Potsdam, Germany
    Towards the risk quantification of rare, unseasonal, and cascading flood events

  • Cécile Munch-Alligné | Head of Hydro electrivity group, Institute of Systems Engineering, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Western Switzerland Valais & EPFL, Switzerland
    Improve the flexibility of Hydropower using numerical simulations

Discussion and Q&A


 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION

Copyright © 2021 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions