Meet the winners of the 2nd IAHR Young Professionals Hydro-Environment challenge!

2nd YP Hydro-Environment Challenge Winners

The IAHR Young Professionals Hydro-Environment Challenge seeks to promote international and interdisciplinary collaboration among young professionals and academics working at institutions across the globe in the hydro-environment field. It is an open contest, hence any kind of young professional profile working on any of the IAHR main themes is welcome to take part in the initiative. Several case studies will be assigned to the participating teams who, after a period of web-based collaborative engineering work, will present their project outcomes during an IAHR webinar. Project stakeholders and senior IAHR members will be involved during the design and mentoring of the case-studies. A jury made up of senior IAHR members and representatives from partners in academia and industry will evaluate the teams.

Access the playback   Fluvial Hydraulics Challenge   Experimental Data Challenge   Ecohydraulics Challenge   2nd Edition

Gonzalo García

Gonzalo García-Alén Lores

Rodrigo Chavarry

Rodrigo Chavarry

Tanyo Patrick Horo

Tanyo Patrick Horo

 Roger David Ramírez Plasencia

 Roger David Ramírez Plasencia

Elisa Beteille

Elisa Beteille

Siamak Seyfi

Siamak Seyfi

Yen-Cheng Lin

Yen-Cheng Lin

Sruthi Thazhathe Kalathil

Sruthi Thazhathe Kalathil

Adeshina Adebanjo

Adeshina Adebanjo

Abinesh Ganapathy

Abinesh Ganapathy

Nithila Devi Nallasamy

Nithila Devi Nallasamy

Yuan-Shun Chang

Yuan-Shun Chang

Blanca Yessica Sevilla Angulo

Blanca Yessica Sevilla Angulo


Winners of the 2nd IAHR Young Professionals Hydro-Environment Challenge 

The winners of the second edition are as follows: 

 Fluvial Hydraulics Challenge

Numerical modelling of the Red River, Louisiana, USA

Gonzalo García-Alén Lores | Universidade da Coruña, Spain

Rodrigo Chavarry  | IAHR Peru Young Professionals Network, Peru  

Tanyo Patrick Horo| Msc of Water Policy at the Pan-African University-Institute of  Water and Energy Sciences including Climate Change (PAUWES) 

Roger David Ramírez Plasencia | University of Sonora, Mexico       

Jury Members

David L. Smith | ERDC - United States Army Corps of Engineers

José M. Carrillo | Universidad Politécnica de Cartagena, Spain

Michael Nones | Institute of Geophysics - Polish Academy of Sciences

David Ferras Segura | IHE Delft Institute for Water Education

 Experimental Data Challenge

Analysis of a turbulent open-flow over a glass bead bed 

Elisa Beteille | EDF R&D National Hydraulics and Environment Laboratory (LNHE), France

Siamak Seyfi| York University, Canada

Adeshina Adebanjo| Birmingham City University, UK

Yen-Cheng Lin | National Taiwan University, Taiwan 

Sruthi Thazhathe Kalathil | Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India

Jury Members

Rui M.L. Ferreira | Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal

Ana Margarida Ricardo | CERIS, Portugal 

Michael Nones | Institute of Geophysics - Polish Academy of Sciences

 Ecohydraulics Challenge

Impacts and mitigation of hydropeaking in Gaula-Lundesokna River, Norway

Abinesh Ganapathy | Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, India

Nithila Devi Nallasamy | Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India

Yuan-Shun Chang | National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Blanca Yessica Sevilla Angulo | Universidad de Guanajuato, Mexico

Jury Members

Daniele Tonina | Professor at University of Idaho, Centre for Ecohydraulics Research

Isabel Boavida | Senior Researcher at University of Lisbon

Mauro Caroli | Research Scientist, SINTEF, Norway

A Meet & Greet session was organised at the 39th IAHR World Congress in Granada in June 2022. 

Copyright © 2024 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions