DONATE

Challenges in Transient Flows

1st IAHR Online Forum: Challenges in Transient Flows

 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION


Challenges in Transient Flows

10:00 UTC | 11:00 London | 12:00 Madrid | 15:30 New Delhi | 18:00 Beijing | 20:00 Sydney | 03:00 Los Angeles | 06:00 New York
Monday, 5 July 2021


Watch the Playback

Population growth, climate change, deterioration of natural resources and the aging of manmade water structures are as many challenges – almost emergencies – to be faced by hydro-environmentalist and, in general, by society. Furthermore, higher efficiency and flexibility is required to water operators to match current and future trends users’ demands. Describe and design hydraulic structures from a dynamic perspective have become therefore a primary need for engineers and practitioners. Hence, not only traditional steady state analyses but also understanding the transient response of the hydraulic systems is to be considered in the engineering codes and standards involving free-surface and pressurized water flows. Such a feature originates a strong impulse to research focused on the analysis of unsteady-state phenomena, with the aim of guarantying the effectiveness of the systems and their performance in terms of the quantity and quality of water transport and infrastructure security.

This session aims to educate and raise awareness about the importance of transient flows, willing to facilitate the sharing of information among water engineers coming from different regions, industries and background, including developed and developing countries, and students, young and senior professionals.

Session Chairs

Moez Louati -profile -220x280.jpg

Moez Louati

Silvia Meniconi -profile -220x280.jpg

Silvia Meniconi

Moderator

Moez Louati -profile -220x280.jpg

Moez Louati

Opening Speakers

Silvia Meniconi -profile -220x280.jpg

Silvia Meniconi

Didia Isabel Cameira Covas_220x280.png

Didia Isabel Cameira Covas 

David Ferras Segura_220x280.jpg

David Ferras Segura

Keynote Speakers

Bryan W. Karney_220x280.jpg

Bryan W. Karney

Jose M. Adriasola V._220x280.jpg

Jose M. Adriasola V.

Programme

Introduction (5 mins each)

Invited speeches (60 mins)

  • Jose M. Adriasola V. | Principal Engineer Hydraulics and Hydrology, Chile
    Mitigation of hydraulic transients: tips from the practice [Abstract] (20 mins)

  • Bryan W. Karney | Professor, Toronto University, Canada
    The key significance of energy as a quantitative measure of transient state [Abstract] (40 mins)

Panel discussion and open Q&A (15 mins)

Session chair closes the session


 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION

Copyright © 2021 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions