DONATE

Possible Directions for Hydraulic Structures Engineering Future

1st IAHR Online Forum: Possible Directions for Hydraulic Structures Engineering Future

 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION


Possible Directions for Hydraulic Structures Engineering Future

11:00 UTC | 12:00 London | 13:00 Madrid | 16:30 New Delhi | 19:00 Beijing | 21:00 Sydney | 04:00 Los Angeles | 07:00 New York
Friday, 9 July 2021 (Live-streamed discussion session only)
Pre-recorded videos accessible since 5 July


Watch the Playback 


Session description to be provided soon

Keynote Speakers

Sebastien Erpicum

Gregory Paxson

Roundtable Speakers

Stefan Felder

Brian Crookston

Anton Schleiss

Gregory Paxson

Sebastien Erpicum

Sean Mulligan

Michele Palermo

Tom Soo

Jose Vasconcelos

Eric Lesleighter

Programme

Pre-recorded keynote speeches

Accessible since Monday, 5 July 2021. Please leave your questions right on the video-playing page.

  • Sebastien Erpicum | Liege University, Belgium; IAHR Hydraulic Structures TC Chair
    Hydraulic structures engineering: trends, concerns, and needs

  • Gregory Paxson | Schnabel Eng and USSD, ASDSO, ICOLD, USA
    Informed Decisions and Communication for Dam Safety and Hydraulic Structures

Roundtable discussion

To be live-streamed on Friday, 9 July 2021 to answer the questions collected on the video-playing page (no live questions).

Talk Summary

Sebastien Erpicum | Hydraulic structures engineering: trends, concerns, and needs

  • Keywords: hydraulic engineering, hydraulic infrastructures, hydraulics, multidisciplinarity, sustainability

  • Brief Introduction: A point of view on current trends, concerns, and needs related to hydraulic structures engineering and a forward-looking framework for more sustainable and resilient interactions with nature and between communities in water management.

  • Abstract: Hydraulic structures are critical for water management, but face evolving societal challenges and changing environmental conditions. In this context, hydraulic structures engineering needs to evolve. This talk presents the IAHR HSTC point of view on current trends, concerns, and needs related to hydraulic structures engineering as well as a forward-looking framework that is grounded on the evolution of interconnected research tools and methodologies in addition to emphasizing and bolstering strong links between academia and industry. It is anticipated that in this way the hydraulic structures community will make a new step toward more sustainable and resilient interactions with nature and between communities in water management.

Gregory Paxson | Informed Decisions and Communication for Dam Safety and Hydraulic Structures

  • Abstract: Dam safety decisions are critical to be able to manage our infrastructure wisely. This presentation will discuss recent advancements in prioritizing dam safety investments through risk assessment and also discuss opportunities to leverage benefits provided by dams to address dam safety risks.



 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION

Copyright © 2021 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions