Nominate your candidates for the 2023 IAHR Awards! |

IAHR AwardsEvery two years, the IAHR Global Awards are presented at the IAHR World Congress, the major science and engineering event for the hydro-environment community worldwide.

Established by the International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research (IAHR), IAHR Awards recognise the most important achievements in the hydro-environmental science and engineering field within several categories, and reward those individuals, organisations, and companies in the hydro-environment sector that are moving engineering and research forward through achievement or published papers.  

Now open for nomination! 

The following IAHR Global Awards pay tribute to inspiring members remembered for their pioneering research contributions and guiding efforts to make the association more relevant and are currently open for nomination. 

Nominating a candidate allows the hydro-environment sector to give due recognition and to encourage excellence in engineering research and practice. We welcome nominations for individuals, organisations, and companies from all parts of the world and strongly encourage the nomination of women candidates.  

Nomination period extended until Monday 13 February 2023 

Nominations should comply with the format and information requirements described on the awards forms available on the awards web pages

IAHR members and non-members are invited to submit their nominations for the following IAHR Global Awards:

Honorary Membership Award

Since 1940, the Honorary Membership Award, rewards IAHR members, as well as individuals and entities outside the IAHR community, for their life-time contributions to hydro-environment engineering and research, and for outstanding service to the association.


M. Selim Yalin Lifetime Achievement Award

The M. Selim Yalin Lifetime Achievement Award is conferred upon an IAHR member whose experimental, theoretical, or numerical research has resulted in significant and enduring contributions to the understanding of the physics of phenomena...


Arthur Thomas Ippen Award

The Arthur Thomas Ippen Award recognises an IAHR member who has demonstrated conspicuously outstanding ability, originality, and accomplishment in basic hydraulic research and/or applied hydraulic engineering, and who holds great promise for...


Harold Jan Schoemaker Award

The Harold Jan Schoemaker Award is granted to the author(s) of the paper judged the most outstanding paper published in the IAHR Journal of Hydraulic Research (JHR) in the two years preceding the IAHR World Congress. The award was established in 1980...


For further information, please refer to the FAQs section on our website. Additional enquiries regarding the nomination process should be directed to the IAHR Secretariat via email to

2023 John F. Kennedy Student Paper Competition  

The John F. Kennedy Student Paper Competition recognises conference papers from undergraduate and postgraduate students on the basis of written and oral presentations at the IAHR World Congress

To apply for the 2023 John F. Kennedy Student Paper Competition, which will take place in the framework of the 40th IAHR World Congress, students will need to apply using the registration form for the Congress before 20 April 2023. If a paper is multi-authored, students will need to be first authors and in this case the selection committee asks that they present an authorship statement indicating the contribution of each of the authors.  

Other IAHR Global Awards presented at the IAHR World Congress 

Social media kit


Here you will find some banners you may use to help spread the word about IAHR Awards. 


Facebook, Linkedin, Twitter (1200x630 px)


Instagram (1080x1080 px)


Stories (1080x1920 px)

Follow IAHR on FacebookLinkedinInstagram and Twitter to keep updated. 

Subscribe to IAHR News!

Copyright © 2023 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions