DONATE

Fluvial Hydraulics - Challenges for a Better Future

1st IAHR Online Forum:Fluvial Hydraulics - Challenges for a Better Future

 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION


Fluvial Hydraulics - Challenges for a Better Future

5 July 2021
14:00 UTC | 15:00 London | 16:00 Central Europe | 19:30 New Delhi | 22:00 Beijing | 00:00 Sydney | 07:00 Los Angeles | 10:00 New York


In the frame of the first IAHR online forum, the IAHR Technical Committee on Fluvial Hydraulics will hold a special session entitled “Fluvial Hydraulics - Challenges for a better future”. This session will bring together young and experienced researchers active in the field of fluvial hydraulics. It is a unique opportunity for young researchers and PhD students to share their views for a better future in short video pitches presenting the way they propose to act in this direction through the research they are conducting. These pitches will be followed by a live discussion with all interested members of IAHR, chaired by Claudia Adduce and members of the Fluvial Hydraulics Committee Leadership Team on the presented topics and on the future of our actions.

Call for video submissions

1622873158639264.jpg

Watch the Playback

Practical information for video submissions:

  • Format: Short videos of maximum 3 minutes, following the instructions in this attached document. Use this attached first slide to identify yourself.

  • Extended deadline: 15 June 2021

  • Submission procedure: Send a link to download your video by email to sandra.soares-frazao@uclouvain.be. The video should not be attached to the email.

  • About 10 pitches will be selected for diffusion during the online forum, while the other will be available as online supplementary material

We look forward to discover your videos and to share views and ideas about the future challenges in fluvial hydraulics!

Session Organizers

1619850316646357.jpg

Wim S.J. Uijttewaal

1619850316646357.jpg

Colin Rennie

Moderator

1619850477414416.jpg

Claudia Adduce

Panelists (Leadership Team of the Committee on Fluvial Hydraulics)

Sandra Soares-Frazao_220x280.jpg

Sandra Soares-Frazao

Shaohua Marko Hsu -LT.jpg

Shaohua Marko Hsu

Andre Paquier -LT -220x280.jpg

André Paquier

George Constantinescu -LT -220x280.jpg

George Constantinescu

Subhasish Dey -LT -220x280.jpg

Subhasish Dey

Mario Franca -LT -220x280.jpg

Mário Franca

Katinka Koll -LT -220x280.jpg

Katinka Koll

Angelo Leopardi -LT -220x280.jpg

Angelo Leopardi

Donatella Termini -LT -220x280.jpg

Donatella Termini

Rui M.L. Ferreira -LT -220x280.jpg

Rui M.L. Ferreira

Colin Rennie -LT -220x280.jpg

Colin Rennie

Wim S.J. Uijttewaal -LT -220x280.jpg

Wim S.J. Uijttewaal

Programme

Opening and introduction (5 mins)

Field surveys (15 mins)

  • Rossella Belloni | Investigating river-sea system through remote sensing

  • Rotchild Louis | Drone-based bathymetry of the Rouyonne river in Haiti

  • Discussion

Integrated models (15 mins)

  • Roza Ranjbar | Distributed/Coalitional MPC for large-scale networked systems

  • Danieli Ferreira | Improving hydrodynamic simulations through a dynamic roughness component

  • Discussion

Sediment transport; experiments (15 mins)

  • Maria Rita Maggi | Gravity currents propagating over complex topography

  • Shashank Gupta |  Effects of fine sediments infiltration on an alternategravel bars system

  • Discussion

Sediment transport; theory (15 mins)

  • Muhammad Riaz | Your waterways your future: improvement in classical sediment transport theory

  • Hélder Guta | Sediment transport problems

  • Discussion

Hydraulics (15 mins)

  • Puria Asiaban | Recreational river wave optimization

  • Nina Benistati | Flow characteristics and turbulence structure in curved channels with partially vegetated bed

  • Discussion

Final remarks and closure (10 mins)



 Online Forum 2021  »  PROGRAMME  |  RESOURCES  |  LIVE  |  REGISTRATION  |  SPONSORSHIP  |  INFORMATION

Copyright © 2021 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions