Europe Division

Next Events & Activities

Leadership Team
Corrado Gisonni

Università Della Campania 'Luigi Vanvitelli' (Italy)


Vice Chair
Pawel M. Rowinski

Institute of Geophysics, PAS (IGF PAN)


Past Chair
Anton J. Schleiss

Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)


Claudia Adduce

Università RomaTre


Jean-Paul Chabard



Alan J S Cuthbertson

University of Dundee

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Kamal El Kadi Abderrezzak

Electricité de France, Division R&D


Boriss Gjunsburgs

Riga Technical University


Ian Guymer

University of Sheffield

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Amparo López Jiménez

Universidad Politécnica de Valencia


Anastasios I. Stamou

National Technical University of Athens (NTUA)


Dusan Zagar

University of Ljubljana FGG



List of Past Chairs 

Division Programme Officer

  • Elsa Incio, IAHR Secretariat

Past Events & Activities

  • 5th IAHR Europe Congress "New challenges in hydraulic research and engineering", Trento, Italy, 12-14 June 2018. Chair: Prof Aronne Armanini  Contact: / Poster / Website / Pictures / Congress short report / Proceedings / New Europe Division Award: Gerhard Jirka Award for Young Researchers / 

  • 4th IAHR Europe Congress "Sustainable hydraulics in the era of global change", Liege, Belgium, 27-29 July 2016. Chair: Prof Benjamin Dewals / Poster / Website / Pictures / Conference Report / Proceedings published by Taylor & Francis ISBN 9781138029774 - CAT# K29997 / Programme / Contact Us

  • 3rd IAHR Europe Congress "Water - Engineering and Research" 14-16 April 2014, Porto, Portugal. Chair: Prof Francisco Taveira Pinto / Poster / Website / Pictures / Conference Report / Programme and Table of contents / Contact Us

  • 2nd IAHR Europe Congress "Water infinitely deformable but still limited", 27-29 June 2012, Munich, Germany. Chair: Prof Peter Rutschmann / Poster / Website / Leaflet / Proceedings: USB-Stick, ISBN 978-3-943683-03-5 Table of contents / Contact Us

  • 1st IAHR Europe Congress (incorporating the 3rd Int Junior Research and Engineer Workshop on Hydraulic Structures (IJREWHS´10) 4-6 May 2010, Edinburgh, Scotland. Chair: Prof Gareth Pender / Poster / Table of contents / Contact Us

  • Speech ¨The role of Practitioners¨ by Jean Jacques PETERS, Chairman of the European Division, given at the ETNET 21 First Plenary Meeting (Delft, 18 & 19 June 2001). New Europe Division Award: Gerhard Jirka Award for Young Researchers

IAHR Hydro-Environment Europe Division Heritage Award

The IAHR Regional Hydro-Environment Heritage Award is conferred by IAHR during one or more of the Europe Division Congresses on a local infrastructure of lasting and international importance. It has the purpose of giving international professional recognition to the work of local hydro-environment engineers, and should demonstrably have stood the test of time (and be at least one hundred years old) and be accepted and valued nationally.

  • 2016: The European Division of IAHR bestows the 1st Industry Innovation Award to the Construction of the 4th lock of Lanaye during the 4th IAHR Europe Congress in Liege, July 2016

Copyright © 2020 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions