New IAHR Council for the 2021-2023 period

The new Constitution and by-laws, voted at the 2019 General Members Assembly in Panama, came into effect during the IAHR General Members Assembly held at the inaugural Online Forum on 7 July 2021. 

The new by-laws state that the IAHR Council will be composed of a President, 3 Vice-Presidents, the Chairs of the Regional Divisions, the Chairs of the Technical Committees, the Journal Editors and the regional representatives of the current 48 Young Professionals Networks (YPNs).

The 2021 Nominating Committee submitted a slate of candidates for whom members could vote. The results of the election were officially announced during the IAHR General Members Assembly on 7 July. The new Council is taking office in August 2021.

IAHR Council 2021 - 2023

Executive Committee


Joseph LeeJoseph Hun-Wei Lee

Macau University of Science and Technology, Macau SAR China.                               

Vice-President for the Americas

Robert EmmaRobert Ettema

Colorado State University, USA.                                  

Vice-President for Asia and the Pacific

Hyoseop Woo.jpgHyoseop Woo

Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea.                                 

Vice-President for Europe

Amparo LópezAmparo López

Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain.                                

Secretaries General

Jing PengJing Peng

China Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Research (IWHR), China.                                                                                             

Ramón GutierrezRamón Gutiérrez Serret

CEDEX, Spain.               


Tom SooTom Soo

International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research (IAHR).                              

Regional Divisions Chairs


David StephensonDavid Stephenson

University Botswana, South Africa.                                 

Asia and the Pacific

Gregory De CostaGregory De Costa

Open Polytechnic of New Zealand, New Zealand.                               


Corrado GisonniCorrado Gisonni

Università Della Campania 'Luigi Vanvitelli', Italy.                               

Latin America

Pablo Daniel SpallettiPablo Daniel Spalletti

Instituto Nacional del Agua, Argentina.                               

Technical Committees Chairs 

Technical Committee on Fluid Mechanics

Vlad Nikora

Vlad Nikora

University of Aberdeen, United Kingdom.                                   

Technical Committee on Hydraulic Machinery and Systems 

Stefan Riedelbauch

Stefan Riedelbauch

University of Sttugart, Germany.                               

Technical Committee on Hydraulic Structures 

Sébastien ErpicumSébastien Erpicum

Liege University, Belgium.                                   

Technical Committee on Industrial Flows and Energy Exchange

Sofiane BenhamadoucheSofiane Benhamadouche

EDF, France.

Technical Committee on Climate Change Adaptation

Roberto RanziRoberto Ranzi

University of Brescia, Italy.                                  


Technical Committee on Ice Research and Engineering 

Knut HoylandKnut Hoyland

Norwegian University of Science and Technology.                                 

IAHR/IWA Joint Technical Committee on Hydroinformatics 

Gabriele FreniGabriele Freni

Università Di Enna Kore, Italy.                                  

IAHR/IWA Joint Technical Committee on Urban Drainage

Jeroen G. LangeveldJeroen G. Langeveld

Delft University of Technology, Netherlands.                                  

Technical Committee on Water Resources Management 

Elpida KolokythaElpida Kolokytha

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece.                                 

Technical Committee on Education and Professional Development 

Eva FenrichEva Fenrich

Esslingen University of Applied Sciences, Germany.                                 

IAHR-Hohai Co-Committee on Higher Education and E-learning 

Weiya XuWeiya Xu

Hohai University, China.                                        

Technical Committee on Experimental Methods and Instrumentation 

Rui ML FerreiraRui M.L. Ferreira

Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal.                                   

Technical Committee on Flood Risk Management 

Alastair G. BarnettAlastair G. Barnett

HYDRA Software Ltd, New Zealand.                                

IAHR/IWA Joint Committee on Marine Outfall Systems 

Mathew WoodMatthew Wood

HR Wallingford, United Kingdom.                                        

Technical Committee on Ecohydraulics  

Gregory PasternackGregory Pasternack

University of California, USA.                                  

 Technical Committee on Coastal and Maritime Hydraulics 

Zhiguo HeZhiguo He

Zhejiang University, China.                                

Technical Committee on Groundwater Hydraulics and Management 

Alberto GuadagniniAlberto Guadagnini

Politecnico di Milano, Italy.                                 

Technical Committee on Fluvial Hydraulics 

Sandra Soares-FrazaoSandra Soares-Frazao

Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium.                                

Journal Editors 

Hydrolink Editorial Board 

Angelos N. FindikakisAngelos N. Findikakis

Bechtel Corporation, USA.                                

Journal of Applied Water Engineering and Research (JAWER) Editorial Board 

David L SmithDavid L. Smith

ERDC - US Corps of Engineers, USA.                                   

Journal of Hydro-environment Engineering and Research (JHER) Editorial Board

Adrian Wing Keung LawAdrian Wing Keung Law

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.                                                               

Sung-uk ChoiSung-Uk Choi

Yonsei University, Korea.                                            

 Journal of Hydraulic Research (JHR) Editorial Board

Mohamed S GhidaouiMohamed S. Ghidaoui

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong SAR China.                                     

Journal of Ecohydraulics (JoE) Editorial Board

Takashi AsaedaTakashi Asaeda

Saitama University, Japan.                                  

International Journal of River Basin Management (JRBM) Editorial Board 

James BallJames Ball

University of Technology Sydney, Australia.                                  

RIBAGUA Editorial Board 

Fabian BombardelliFabian Bombardelli

University of California, Davis, USA.                                     

YPNs regional representatives


Daniel ValeroDaniel Valero

IHE-Delft Institute for Water Education.                                    

Latin America

María Gabriela CastrellónMaría Gabriela Castrellón

Universidad Tecnológica de Panamá, Panamá.                               

Asia and the Pacific

Quian YuQian Yu

China Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Research (IWHR), China.                                


Wada PatellaWada Patella

Botswana International University of Science and Technology, Botswana.                                

Copyright © 2022 International Association for Hydro-Environment Engineering and Research. All rights reserved. | Terms and Conditions